Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Increasing Chassis Rigidity

Default Increasing Chassis Rigidity

I realize this might be an odd question to ask here at DI but there are a few chassis fab guys here with Subaru-specific experience and if anyone could help me it would be them.

What areas of the Impreza's chassis, specifically the GC/GM/GF, should be reinforced to increase chassis rigidity for better on-track (not off-road) performance without a roll cage?

I am by no means an engineer of any sort but here are a few ideas I have...

The first and most obvious is stitch welding the seams.

Second, reinforce the strut towers. I know this can be done many different ways like "boxing in" the towers as shown below.

Third, better brace the B-pillar. I know that aftermarket braces that run along the floor and attach to the B-pillar exist.

Lastly, reinforce the front fender area as seen below.

Thoughts? Ideas? Comments? Suggestions? Paging JR

One more question but slightly off-topic. Are there any negative effects to removing the spare tire well? JR did it to Ben's track car, but it's caged.

Last edited by Tim.Flat4; 12-17-2009 at 12:55 PM.

2. Don't like seeing these ads? Register on the DirtyImpreza.com forums today - Click Here
    Senior Dirty Member

Rocker panels or mad sill bars will benefit your chassis
    Alex Rademacher
    2006 to now: 14 championships (Stage Rally, RallyX, AutoX, Club Trials) and counting ...

I know the spare tire actually assist it in rear impact. It helps cushion some of the damage.

plate the frame? cage? plate the cage?

Garage Fab Innovations

seam welded the entire chassis

It is very important that the people who create the laws be subject to them.

"Consumption in this overdeveloped world is carried out largely as custom rather than the result of any real belief in anything." -Steven Duncombe-

"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both."
    -Benjamin Franklin-